Early voting was light for Tuesday's municipal elections in Dalton, Cohutta and Varnell.

The Whitfield County elections office reported 810 people voted in Dalton, 12 in Cohutta and 31 in Varnell. Early voting ended Friday. By comparison, there are 15,942 registered voters in Dalton, 473 in Cohutta and 1,343 in Varnell.

In Dalton, Mayor Dennis Mock faces former mayor David Pennington.

Derek Waugh is running unopposed for the Ward 1 seat of the City Council currently held by Denise Wood, who did not seek reelection. And incumbent council member Tyree Goodlett is running unopposed for the Ward 3 seat.

Incumbent Pablo Perez faces Sam Sanders for that seat on the Board of Education. David Blackburn’s name will appear on the ballot in that race. He withdrew after the voting database and cards had been created.

Incumbent Tulley Johnson is unopposed for his seat on the school board, and Jody McClurg is running unopposed for the school board seat currently held by Rick Fromm, who did not seek reelection.

In Cohutta, four people are running for two seats on the Town Council: Nick Conner, J. Shane Kornberg (incumbent), Andy Lopez and Shelia Rose (incumbent). The two candidates with the most votes will be elected.

Two seats are contested on the Varnell City Council. Seat 3 incumbent David Owens faces Sandy Pangle while Seat 5 incumbent Bob Roche takes on Richard Lowe.

All municipal elections are nonpartisan.

Murray County voters will decide on a five-year Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (TSPLOST) that is expected if approved to raise about $23.5 million. Murray County and the cities of Chatsworth and Eton plan to use the money to resurface streets and roads.

The TSPLOST is a 1% tax on most goods sold in the county.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., but those in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote. You must bring a photo ID.

React to this story:


Recommended for you