Elections Tuesday for Dalton, Cohutta and Varnell city councils, Dalton school board

Voters will go to the polls Tuesday to decide city council seats in three local cities as well as school board seats in Dalton.

In Dalton, Mayor Dennis Mock is challenged by former Mayor David Pennington.

Derek Waugh is running unopposed for the Ward 1 seat currently held by Denise Wood, who did not seek reelection to the City Council. And incumbent council member Tyree Goodlett is running unopposed for the Ward 3 seat.

Incumbent Pablo Perez faces Sam Sanders for his seat on the Board of Education. David Blackburn's name will appear on the ballot in that race. He withdrew after the voting database and cards had been created.

Incumbent Tulley Johnson is unopposed for his seat on the school board, and Jody McClurg is running unopposed for the school board seat currently held by Rick Fromm, who is not seeking reelection.

In Cohutta, four people are running for two seats: Nick Conner, J. Shane Kornberg (incumbent), Andy Lopez and Shelia Rose (incumbent). The two candidates with the most votes will be elected.

Two seats are contested on the Varnell City Council. Seat 3 incumbent David Owens faces Sandy Pangle while Seat 5 incumbent Bob Roche takes on Richard Lowe.

All municipal elections are nonpartisan.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. but those in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote. You must bring a photo ID.

React to this story:


Recommended for you